Fri. Jan 15th, 2021

RehearseApp.net Magazine

Powered by the Global Theatre RSS Feeds

Livestreaming a Performance: Readymade Cabaret 2.0

1 min read
livestreaming-a-performance:-readymade-cabaret-2.0

This Is Not A Theatre Company presents a performance of Readymade Cabaret 2.0 livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday 6 December 2020 at 11 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5).

In This is Not a Theatre Company’s interactive online performance Readymade Cabaret 2.0, both the play’s scenes and the order in which they are performed are determined by the audience’s roll of the dice. Each performance has over a million possible outcomes. Based on Marcel Duchamp’s notions of readymade art and the philosophies of Dada as practiced by Tristan Tzara, Readymade Cabaret 2.0 speaks to the current COVID moment by asking whether our lives are determined by chance, fate, or free will. Character-based scenes are interspersed with computer-generated Dada poetry, computer-generated art, audience-created aleatory music, and Chance Dances created by audience prompts typed into the chat. Celebrate the beauty of chance encounters in a play where you make the meaning!

Conceived and directed by Erin B Mee, scenes by Jessie Bear, computer-generated Dada poetry by Brent Bailey, computer-generated Dada art by Beatrice Antonie Martino and Dyan Jong, Chance Dances and aleatory compositions by the audience with Jonathan Matthews, and featuring actors Toussaint Jeanlouis, Marisa LaRuffa, Christopher Morriss and Lipica Shah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.