Tue. Aug 11th, 2020

RehearseApp.net Magazine

Powered by the Global Theatre RSS Feeds

Livestreaming a reading of Incredibly Annoying Women by Rosanna Yamagiwa Alfaro

3 min read
livestreaming-a-reading-of-incredibly-annoying-women-by-rosanna-yamagiwa-alfaro

Asian American Theatre Artists of Boston presentes Incredibly Annoying Women by Rosanna Yamagiwa Alfaro livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 15 July 2020 at 7:00 p.m. EDT (Boston, UTC -4) / 6:00 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 5:00 p.m. MDT (Denver, UTC -6) / 2:00 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1 p.m. AKDT (Juneau, UTC -8) / 11 a.m. HST (Honolulu, UTC -10).

Directed by Mallika Chandaria


Stage Managed by: Karin Naono

Featuring:


Roxanne Y. Morse


Kendra Jain


Lisa Yuen


Vijaya Sundaram


Emily Kuroda

Synopsis: Incredibly Annoying Women consists of five monologues for cantankerous women who have a bone to pick with the world. The first harbors murderous thoughts about the noisy neighborhood children. The second, who has just been fired from her job, is dangerously inspired by a self-immolating activist. The third is exhilarated when a tornado passes through her trailer park and wipes it and her philandering ex-husband from the face of the earth. The fourth broods when a scene stealing actress in a minor role ruins her one chance at stardom. And the fifth reacts to the news that she has Alzheimer’s by sailing down the Amazon.”

Runtime: 90 minutes

Each of our readings will be presented live on Zoom, Facebook Live, and HowlRound TV. Zoom Registration Link Here.

About AATAB Online

We’ve gathered (and still are gathering!) theatre artists from the AATAB community, the Boston theatre community, and friends across the country that are now virtually available, to explore a play in development by a Boston-based Asian American playwright, and experiment with how we can become even more creative storytellers through Zoom.

Our goal is to find new ways for us to gather and celebrate our community, and to find some joy through collaboration and creativity during these unknown, frustrating, and difficult times, all while raising money for organizations in need! For this reading we would like to amplify Families for Justice as Healing.

Families for Justice as Healing is a small grassroots organization led by incarcerated women, formerly incarcerated women, and women with incarcerated loved ones and works to end the incarceration of women and girls. They approach their work by #Reimagining Communities. “We don’t need or want any new jails or prisons. Formerly incarcerated women have the solutions and expertise to address the root causes of incarceration. We are leading work to shift resources away from the criminal punishment system and into Black and Brown communities so we can have housing, healthcare, education, economic development, and community-led organizations.” Donation Link.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email [email protected], or call Vijay Mathew at 1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.